week 14

Hey yous!

A spicy week for sure because of all the new changes!

The last day Sister Johnson was here in Norwood, we did our volunteer work at the thrift shop which is always great. It was funny, the two women that we usually see there came up to me and said,” We were organizing some of the women’s skirts and we saw these 4 skirts that just reminded us of you so we put them aside, so be sure to look at them and take them home if you like them!” They were flowery/pattern skirts that totally were my style…so funny. So I took home two of them! Even though I’ve already gotten like 4 skirts at the thrift shop from previous times…I’m for sure going to have to let go of some stuff haha…but they’re free so it’s hard to resist getting them! Especially when they have pockets…Anyway, I sound so worldly now…haha so we went to the Methodist luncheon with the old people which was great. Only a few minutes after we got home, we heard a knock on our door and it was Marshel from the luncheon! He said there was no one around to help and came to ask if we could help his wife who fell in the bathroom because he wasn’t strong enough. So we were able to help her and they were so gracious and thankful…I’m glad he felt comfortable enough to ask us and that we were around to help.

Super cool thing happened! So, we went to see Sister Atchie and her friend Connie was there. Connie isn’t a member, but she sticks around and hears our message that we share to Sister Atchie and her boyfriend when she’s at their house. She was pretty shy and closed off the first couple of times we’ve visited them, but one time, a month or so ago, she really opened up about some of her struggles and ever since then, has been a lot more comfortable around us. Anyways, this last visit, Connie told us that she would like for us to come over and visit her at her home..she said she isn’t really comfortable with reading the Book of Mormon (she’s an active Catholic), but she likes the videos we show on mormonchannel.org and other spiritual thoughts. Isn’t that so cool!! She says that she has never opened up to past missionaries before, but she really does enjoy being around us and the messages we share of Christ…so awesome.

So, transfers happened. I was able to go down to Utica with Sister Johnson and some other missionaries..I met some new people and got to see some familiar faces…including SISTER BLOMQUIST. It was the best. I love that girl. There is a new missionary that just came in and he is 7 foot 2 inches tall. It’s insane. His companion was my old zone leader and I thought he was tall! But he looked like a child next to the new elder! It was pretty great. On the way back to Norwood, we picked up my new companion Sister Duke!! (Woot!) I love her. She is so awesome. We have the same response or reaction sometimes…so awesome. We’re going to have a great transfer and work hard in our area! It should be good 🙂

Brandi is SO great. Although our lesson can go a totally different route then what we expect..because she’s pretty young…some sweet experiences happen. She shared with us how she had a stomach ache during the night and that she prayed to God for him to take it away…and she said that He helped her to fall back asleep and when she woke up, the ache was gone! It was so sweet that she shared that…it made me so happy and strengthened my faith. It’s amazing how little things like that can really influence and deepen our testimony of Heavenly Father’s love for us. We saw her yesterday and during the lesson, her Nana, who hasn’t been an active member for over 25 years, came and sat down at the table along with her aunt who isn’t a member, which has never happened before! We were talking about ways that Brandi can serve those around her and what not and chatted a bit with her Nana and aunt. They have gotten a lot more comfortable with us…Brandi asked if we could come for dinner on Wednesday and lo and behold, we now have a dinner appointment on Wednesday! It may not sound significant, but it seriously is amazing that they are letting us come and have dinner with the whole family!

Oh backing up to Saturday because GENERAL CONFERENCE WAS AMAZING. So amazing. It also made em so happy that President Kim B. Clark (the former president at BYU-I) gave a talk!!! So awesome. All the talks were so wonderful and I feel like I have a fresh new outlook for my mission and for life. I can’t wait to read them all again and ponder them…I’m so thankful for a modern day prophet, apostles, and other leaders in this gospel, all chosen by God. One common phrase I felt that was weaved into each of the talks is “His grace is sufficient”. I love that phrase…it brings such hope that even though we may fall short, sin, or have weaknesses, we have Christ’s Atonement to bear us up and heal our wounds…it’s available to all who believe on Him and come with a broken heart and contrite spirit…willing to submit to His will and love. I’m going to pray more earnestly to see His love for me and for those around me…and I invite you all to do the same! When we pray to see the way that He and Heavenly Father sees us and others, we will be able to see the divine potential in each one of us and be able to lead more loving, happier lives. I’m so thankful for conference and for the knowledge and revelation I received from it! These people truly are inspired of God and speak what Heavenly Father wants us to hear today! If you want to hear some of the talks given, here’s the link: https://www.lds.org/general-conference/sessions/2015/10?cid=HP_SU_10-4-2015_dPTH_fGC_xLIDyL1-C_&lang=eng

Well..I’m running out of time…I love being here…it’s getting pretty chilly and I heard the winters are brutal, but it’s all good because I’m with awesome people and doing the Lord’s work! And it’s the BEST. I love you all and hope you have a great week!!

Love, Sister Pange

Leave a Reply

