Week 17

I just realized that I accidentally put week 15 last week ooops!

I can’t believe how fast October is going….crazy. We find out a week from this Saturday whether I’ll be staying here in Norwood or I go somewhere else in the mission….CRAZY!

Anyways, hi! πŸ™‚ This last week has been pretty good! We had a district lunch at the senior couple’s house in Ogdensburg again which was awesome….got to see Canada again. #woopwoop We helped this super great woman, Paulette, paint her bedroom which was fun! She took us out to eat after and told us her feelings of when she got baptized…she is amazing. The Carthage sisters came up our way for a day and a half and we did a blitz together here in Norwood! I was with Sister Williams and Sister Duke was with Sister Branch (who I met up at BYU-I before we went on missions, she’s awesome!). Sister Williams and I went to Norfolk and decided to tract this one street and it was sweet! 4 of the houses we tried, and where someone answered the door, didn’t deny us! They said to come back at a later time…so hopefully we’ll get to see some of them again. We tracted this other street and the houses we tried there totally shut us down…thus is the mission life. It’s the best though!!! Like for real…it just pushes us to keep working hard and continually trust in the Lord because this is His work and He will help us in every aspect of it! Even if it’s to just test us if we’ll continue to be positive and keep having the optimism that He is preparing those who will be ready to hear the message of the Gospel. I still need to work on not letting certain things get me down, it’s a continual process, but I know that Heavenly Father is letting me stretch and grow so I can become more stronger and have a better perspective of things that I will need to face in the future. And Christ’s Atonement is real! That’s where the strength comes in to more fuller endure and enjoy the process of growth and change.

We had dinner with some awesome members in the branch, the Colberts. They are amazing member missionaries!! Sister Colbert was talking a little bit about the Christmas Pageant they have every year and it sound so awesome!! I probably won’t be here for it though…I’m going to miss this branch so much! Anyways, it got me so excited for Christmas! Plus, thanks mom for sending me at least two Christmas cards each month that I’ve been on the mission…I’ve basically been pumped for Christmas since June haha… πŸ™‚ Anyways, the Colberts have been talking to one of their neighbors about the church and said that they’ll ask her if she would be interested in hearing the lessons with us! The next day, Sister Colbert gave us a call and said that she would! So hopefully we’ll be able to meet her soon πŸ™‚

We decided to go see this one woman who I met a month or so ago at a fair (she was selling some of her artwork) last Thursday. She let us right in and told us that she was having a really bad day. I can’t go into too much detail, but man…she’s had a hard life. She talked about how her dad was super abusive in many aspects and how he would quote bible scriptures to her in a negative way, so it’s been hard for her to accept God’s love for her and it triggers memories when she reads from passages in the bible which is so sad. She said that she wants to feel the hope and love that comes form God and asked if we could pray with her which she really appreciated. She showed us some of her other artwork too, she’s super talented. We set up a time to see her again, it was going to be today, but she told us yesterday that the visit we had with her triggered a bunch of stuff and her health hasn’t gotten any better…we told her we’d keep praying for her and if she needed anything to give us a call. Although we won’t be able to see her at this time and share the wonderful message of the gospel, I’m glad that she let us in that one time and I know that she’ll be ready for it later on. there are so many people that I’ve met so far out here that have had some heartbreaking stories from their life…it truly humbles me and puts my mind in perspective. I have come to realize that one of the reasons why the Lord wants us to serve others is to keep that clear perspective in mind and to continually have gratitude for all that we have…it provides an opportunity to help and love others that need our strength and love. Oo! I just thought of this scripture that I read this morning in D & C 78:19 that says “And he who receiveth all things with thankfulness shall be made glorious; and the things of the earth shall be added unto him, even an hundred fold, yea, more.” Heavenly Father is the best. He wants to bless us..just be being thankful, he promises us that we will be made glorious and all things will be added unto us! Just like with tithing, he only asks a full 10% of our income and by that, he opens the windows of heaven that we won’t have room to receive! He blesses us in any effort to come closer to Him..beyond what we can imagine or think we deserve. It’s amazing.

More stuff happened as always, but those were the things that stuck out the most at the moment. We had our branch Halloween party! It was so fun…they had a little dance party which I so wish I could’ve join! But honestly, watching it was the BEST! All the little kids and the older people dancing was sooo funny and entertaining. Words can’t even describe…I love the people here. Time is flying and I got to get going…I love the mission, I love the people, I love the trials, I love this Gospel! Remember how much each and everyone of you are loved by our Heavenly Father…I testify that He does. I love you all and hope you have a great week!

Love, Sister Pange

Leave a Reply

