WEEK 24

Oh man, much happened this week.

Ok, so I’ll start with the huge news, because that’s the only reason why y’all opened this e-mail probably! SO…here we go:

I’M TRAINING !!!!

I am going to get a brand, spankin’, new companion fresh from the MTC at transfers on Wednesday. Best Christmas gift evaaa WOOO! On Thursday, we had our Zone Conference, (which was awesome!!!), and at lunch, President Rogers took me and Sister Thao aside to talk to us. He said he had some special assignments for us both. Sister Thao is going to Manchester Vermount (super cool!!) and he said that I was training. I was like WHAAA?! But he said that I’m ready. By gosh, I hope I am! I still feel like a baby out here, but I feel really good about it 🙂 It will for sure be a growing/learning experience for both of us and I’m for sure gonna have to rely on the Lord for a lot of it! But that’s nothing new…I always need His help all day, every day. But yeah, that’s the big news!! Pray for meeeeee!!

Sister Thao and I had an awesome week. Volunteered at the Presb. home and they had a cute little Christmas party with family members! It was great. We also signed up to volunteer at a women’s shelter for mother and children who are in dire circumstances, we’ll start that Satuday! We picked up a few new investigators and they are AWESOME. We OYM’d this one lady, Desha, a week or so ago and we finally met with her on Friday…she is amazing!! All of her questions and concerns about religion and truth was all answered by the Restoration. She is seriously the most sweetest ladies ever and so humble. She hasn’t felt well the past couple of days, but I’m sure we’ll see her later on this week 🙂 We also met a former investigator, Tony, and he is so awesome too. All of the people we meet and teach are awesome…I love em all! Oh! We also went bowling last P-day with one of the members, Tyley, and his friend! It was super fun and hopefully we’ll start teaching his friend soon! They are both planning on going to BYU-I this spring…quite a few people, whether they be members in the ward or missionaries are planning to go to BYU-I! WOO! It’s awesome 🙂

One of our nights, we were walking in New Hartford and Sister Thao felt impressed to go down this one street…we was thinking that we probably wouldn’t have much luck finding people since it was mainly houses, but we followed her prompting. We walked down the street a bit and since we had to get home soon, we crossed the street and started back to our car. We saw this guy coming up our way and we OYM’d him…he was nice and said that he’d be interested to learn more! He’s pretty young and we came to find out that he works at JCP with one of the members, Curtis Mitchell, in our ward! So that was a cool connection! We followed up with Curtis if he talked to him and he said that he was interested in coming to church! By the way, Curtis is 18 years old and he just got his mission call to Liberia Africa!!! SO cool!!! We are super excited for him..he leaves in March. The whole Mitchell family is so awesome! We had dinner with them last night…they are great. They have another son on a mission in Santa Rosa, CA…so they love missionaries!

Isn’t Christmas the best?! I love it so much. It definitely feels different out here where I’m not with my family, I’m not watching the cheesy Hallmark movies or other great Christmas movies, I’m not wrapping gifts or buying stuff for my friends and family…but I still feel the love and spirit of Christmas in a whole new light. I, of course, always thought of and celebrated the Savior’s birth growing up, but it’s amazing how that is all that I do think about since I’ve been out here…and thinking more about why a Savior was born and what that means to me and each one of us. I love these few verses in Alma 7 that read:

10 And behold, he shall be born of Mary, at Jerusalem which is the land of our forefathers, she being a virgin, a precious and chosen vessel, who shall be overshadowed and conceive by the power of the Holy Ghost, and bring forth a son, yea, even the Son of God.

11 And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people.

12 And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities.

13 Now the Spirit knoweth all things; nevertheless the Son of God suffereth according to the flesh that he might take upon him the sins of his people, that he might blot out their transgressions according to the power of his deliverance; and now behold, this is the testimony which is in me.

Isn’t that the one of the most wonderful, comforting, and reassuring words?! I echo my testimony with Alma that a Savior was born, even Jesus Christ, and that He came into this world to be an example…to be our best friend when we are sad, lonely, hurt, or discouraged…He knows our every feeling and our every trial because He felt it and walked through it nearly 2,000 years ago. He did it so we can return back to our Heavenly Father and have happiness and eternal life…

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16)

I love our Savior and the redeeming power He offers so freely if only we believe and follow His example. I am so happy to be sharing this wonderful news at not only this time of year, but throughout my whole mission and the rest of my life! It is the best news ever!!!

I love you all so much and hope you all have a wonderful week! Remember to check out https://www.mormon.org/christmas and share the true meaning of Christmas with those around you ❤

Love, Sister Pange

Leave a Reply

